Blaine

The Keys to the Kingdom of Google Local

16 posts in this topic

Owning the top spot on google local is not nearly as hard as the talking heads that are trying to sell you their patented magic beans make it out to be.

And because the holidays are here and I’m in the giving mood I’m going to spill my guts on how I own google local for my clients and my lead gen sites. I’ve gotten a lot from the Spartan Marketing Academy since it’s been here so now I’m going to pay a little of it back.

First and foremost you have to forget all the noise about google local reviews being a ranking factor. Beyond having 5 reviews in place to get to the gold stars, they do next to nothing for your Google ranking in the local pack. You want the gold stars to make your ad stand out.

I’ve been doing this for 7 years now and have a local ad with 5 reviews. That's right, I said 5 reviews that ranks number 1 above two other ads in a very competitive market where the 2nd place guy has 484 reviews with a 4.9 rating and the 3rd place guy has 106 reviews with a 4.6 rating. I actually took it over with no reviews and maintained that spot for over 2 years that way (with no reviews). A couple months back I finally had time to get 5 reviews up there to get the stars to enhance the click through ratio to my site. Other than that reviews are pretty much worthless when it comes to a ranking signal. Yeah, yeah I know that you’ve read all kinds of articles about how important reviews are for ranking in google local. But I’ll believe what the evidence in front of me is instead of what a company that sells some type of automated review generating/managing utility is trying to sell me.

Google local is not about who you are. Google local is about what you do. If you’re a Carpet Cleaning company, then have the word Carpet and or cleaning in your domain name if at all possible. And what’s EVEN MORE IMPORTANT is to have it in your company name on your google local ad.