Sign in to follow this  

Google Drive API (Rant Coming)

I'm an old school programmer, having started out in the early 70's when I was a kid. Back then, resources were practically non-existent, so any code absolutely had to be compact, reusable (and later, object oriented) and to me at least, elegant in design and function. 

That said, I was working on a project for my EFL school, which involved writing out exam data to Google Sheets I have set up in my Drive account. I knew that Google had a very robust API for this, so assumed it would be a piece of cake. I've experimented with their API in the past, but never really had a need to use it until now. 

So, I go over to Google's API Console, create a project, enable the Sheets API and get an API Key for my project. After a couple of failed tests and more reading, I finally figured out that API Keys don't work on Private Data - only Public Data, and I don't want the Sheets to be publicly available for student privacy reasons. 

Google also offers Oauth 2.0 as well as a Service Account for authentication, but all of their documentation is geared towards their API Client (SDK) platform. After doing a bit more research I ended up installing Composer and then the API Client (about 12 MB's of bloated code). After running their initial authentication process successfully, I turned to writing and updating cell values, which ended up an epic fail, with constant errors or false positives (Google said the data was written, but it wasn't there).

Sidebar: If I were going to release this as a commercial product, I don't see many customers having the skill set to install and configure everything Google wants via SSH.