Sign in to follow this  
Wunderkind

If you could provide one tip for someone new to AdWords, what would it be?

I have been using AdWords on a couple of sites for about 2 years now. I don't spend anything substantial (less than $2000 per month), but I'm making a profit. 

If you could give 1 tip to someone just starting with AdWords or maybe even someone that has been using it but is not getting the results they want, what would it be?

My tip would be make sure you understand the importance of negative keyword lists and are constantly updating them. Understand the difference between campaign level and ad level negative keywords. Make sure you are adding your exact match keywords as negative keywords to any broad match ad groups you might be running.

Web Hosting

On 6/16/2017 at 11:19 AM, Wunderkind said:

I have been using AdWords on a couple of sites for about 2 years now. I don't spend anything substantial (less than $2000 per month), but I'm making a profit. 

If you could give 1 tip to someone just starting with AdWords or maybe even someone that has been using it but is not getting the results they want, what would it be?

My tip would be make sure you understand the importance of negative keyword lists and are constantly updating them. Understand the difference between campaign level and ad level negative keywords. Make sure you are adding your exact match keywords as negative keywords to any broad match ad groups you might be running.

Love this tip. Negative keyword lists can make all the difference between a profitable campaign and one where you lose money hand over fist. It's surprising how little attention people running AdWords campaigns pay to those lists. 

That probably would have been my tip as well, so I'll go with a different one for the sake of variety.