Sign in to follow this  
ShayB

What do you wish you knew when you started your writing biz?

If you were just starting out again as a writer, what lessons/advice would you like to have?

What were the best lessons you learned along the way?

SEMrush

12 hours ago, ShayB said:

If you were just starting out again as a writer, what lessons/advice would you like to have?

What were the best lessons you learned along the way?

Setting things up the right way from the get go!  

I didn't start out as a writer, I don't even consider myself a 'writer' now.  But in my heart, I am.  

I get really frustrated at how to format things, which font, where to place headlines.. basically what I said, how to set yourself up the right way from the get to.  

I spend more time fixing my work than I do writing it.  

The other lesson is learning where and how to market yourself.  

Shay,

When starting up a writing biz, you should never under price yourself to get startup clients with the plan of raising prices later. It doesn't matter how talented you are in writing, your previous low rate clients won't pay more. They will move on to other low rate writers. So I would advise knowing your worth and charge for it from the get go. You will get loyal customers that way that will keep coming back for more.and recommend you to others. Unless they want to keep you a secret for themselves, lol!.

A lot of clients won't even consider low rate writers as they instantly think of "writer's mill" which has a negative connotation attached.

There is nothing wrong with running a sale to get start up clients, just make sure you post what your regular price is right from the get go.

Hope this helps! 😊

Terra

22 hours ago, Terra said:

Shay,